Vanilla Cutout Cookies

20121016-075306.jpg   Halloween will soon be here. My friend has this Halloween party every year, I gone or the last 6 years, but last year was in a cast and could not go. So I am super excited about going this year. I got so many ideas running through my head for Halloween costume. I usually make a costume. Like one year I went as vintage wine. I wore a black dress, put some grapes in my hair added a few battery operated lights to them. Did my hair and make in a vintage style. Put a wine label on my mid section. It was cute and original.

20121016-133419.jpg

This planning of my Halloween costume this year, no not going to say what might do, I’m still narrowing it down, I’m also thinking, my god where did the year go? It seemed like yesterday was in that cast for three months. Now been a year. So much has happened to me this year. I retired my recipe blog, I started Lovely Pink Diva, I started this blog, I had my major Ah-huh moment in life that help me really accept, and put my past and abuse my ex husband put me through, in the past. I went on my first solo vacation. Met the man that got away (yes my Chicago man, I come to realize everyone has the one got away, he is mine, but on the other hand if he truthfully wanted me, he would have waited for me. Instead he is stuck in baby mama drama, and he wont leave her, no matter what, even if means staying with her, when he doesn’t love her. yeah that is another story for another time, yes it a bit of a soap opera, so maybe it is good I’m not involved with him, so everything happens for a reason.) battled cancer, had my second Ah-huh moment in life, that helped me realize I am beautiful, and I am a great woman, I like who I am. Now I am starting to date again, and sign up for EHarmony. It been a very exciting year, that went quickly by.

I don’t regret anything. This year was a great year for me to grow as a person. It also made me appreciate so many thing I have, my experiences, I am grateful for it all. With the leaves changing odors, the temps getting cooler, it time to think about cookies. Yep Christmas cookies. I make 20 different cookies for trays, last year I didn’t due to the cast. One the cookies I make that is easy to do, and can get creative with is my vanilla butter cutouts. What makes the cookies good, is the cookie glaze. I actually paint on the cookies with it, as you can see in my photo. Yeah I drew with a toothpick, mind you the dogs, I colored the glaze in little batches to paint with. So here is some great cookies, to mark what’s been a amazing year for me as a person, and to the next chapters of my life.

Cookies:
Ingredients
1-1/2 cups butter, softened
1-1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon salt

Directions
In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt; gradually add to the creamed mixture. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes or until easy to handle.
On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4-in. thickness. Cut with lightly floured 2-1/2-in. cookie cutters. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased baking sheets.
Bake at 350° for 8-10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Cool for 1 minute before removing to wire racks to cool completely. Decorate as desired.

Cookie glaze:

Ingredients
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 teaspoons milk
2 teaspoons light corn syrup (depending on how thick you want it…I adjust the corn syrup depending on what type of design i am doing,border etc..)
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon butter extract
* note you can play with extracts if want play with taste, I have added a bit of lemon and raspberry to this and comes out wonderful.
Assorted food coloring Paste

Directions
This is for 1 dozen cookies you can adjust it to what ever you need.
In a small bowl or your mixer, stir together confectioners’ sugar and milk until smooth. Beat in corn syrup and almond and vanilla extract until icing is smooth and glossy. If icing is too thick, add more corn syrup.

3 thoughts on “Vanilla Cutout Cookies

  1. And I thought you used cooky cutters to draw those designs. I never would have guessed you used a toothpick. How artistic you are, and a good cook.

Leave a Reply

